Alpha House

Alpha House

Zeta Omicron Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated was chartered on April 26, 1956, at the Old Bookbinder’s Restaurant in Philadelphia. The charter was presented to Kermit Hall by the General President, Frank L. Stanley. The charter members were fifty-seven members of the fraternity who applied to the General Organization to form the first Alpha Graduate Chapter in Philadelphia.

In 1957, Zeta Omicron Lambda and Rho Chapters jointly sponsored the Regional Convention, and in 1958, the General Convention.  From the beginning, Zeta Omicron Lambda has always had leadership roles at the State, Regional, and National Levels of the Fraternity.  Over the years we have had Brothers serve in the various leadership capacities such as i.e.- Eastern Regional Assistant Vice-President, Area Director, President of the Pennsylvania Association of Alpha Chapters, and Eastern Regional Life Membership Chairman, just to name a few.

As the chapter’s activities increased in the Philadelphia community, the acquisition of a fraternity house became apparent and in mid-1966 a house was purchased at 1611 West Girard Ave. This “House of Alpha” remains the center of Brotherhood bonding and service today.

” Think Alpha Phi Alpha. Talk Alpha Phi Alpha. Promote Alpha Phi Alpha and labor for the broad principles of idealism for which Alpha Phi Alpha was created so that humanity shall look on us as a body worthwhile.”

– Dr. Henry Lake Dickason, 5th General President ΑΦA –

Alpha House Inc was established in 1968 with its filing for Nonprofit Status in the State of Pennsylvania. The officers at this time were Brothers W. Norwood Thomas, Nelson Ray, Hugh Morris, James W. Hewitt, and Robert Myers. Alpha House Inc was inactive over a period of time and was resurrected and reorganized in 2005. The new officers were Brothers Carl W Bailey, President, Derick R Edwards, Secretary, and Austin B Frazier, Jr., Treasurer.

With new challenges the Alpha House faced in the 21st century, the newly elected offers decided it would be fitting if a Board of Directors were created to help oversee all repairs and activities pertaining to the Alpha House.

Beginning in 2005, the first Board of Directors for Alpha House Inc was established and it included Brothers Carl W Bailey President, Ronald A Bond, George M Carter, Jr., Robert L. Chapman, Frank E Devine, Derick O Edwards, Derick R. Edwards, Austin B Frazier Jr., Simon H Gregory, James R Roebuck, James C Savage, and Herman Walker. The first meeting for the newly established Alpha House Inc Board of Directors took place on June 18th, 2005.   Zeta Omicron Lambda has been, and will continue to be, an active organization within the Philadelphia Community. Our activities include: voter registration drives, teen pregnancy prevention and sexual awareness programs, food and clothing drives, Thanksgiving Day Feeding Program, Granting of Scholarships and our Annual Engineering and Science Careers Program.  In addition ZOL supports the Dr. Martin Luther King Day of Service and the Big Brothers of Philadelphia.

Zeta Omicron Lambda has a rich history in Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity and the Philadelphia community. We look forward to our continual march toward the light of Alpha, carrying out the mandate created by our founders: Manly Deeds, Scholarship, and Love for all Mankind

Current Board Members: 

  • Brother Maurice Houston, President
  • Brother Darrell Tiller, Vice President
  • Brother Gus Tolson, Treasurer
  • Brother Lee King, Secretary

Brothers: O. Codrington, Richard Austin, Eric Toatley, Fred Poellnitz, Solomon Vincent II, Randy Gordon,
Troy Robinson

Contact email for information on use of the house or questions: